My Nine Most Reread Books for #BookLoversDay

I’m a firm believer in rereading. Right now, in fact, I’m rereading the tail end of the Harry Potter series as a final sendoff for the summer. Here’s a list of my most reread books:

  • Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak
    •  My father still can recite this book to me, word by word.
  • Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
  • The Voyage of the Dawn Treader by C.S. Lewis
    • My mother read the entire Narnia series to me outloud as a kid. The scene with Reepicheep sailing off to the edge of the world by himself makes me tear up. Bonus points if you love the BBC miniseries, too.
  • Fire and Hemlock by Diana Wynne Jones
    •  If I were to ever get a bookish tattoo, it would probably be “No Where” on one wrist and “Now Here” on the other.
  • Ramona and her Father by Beverly ClearyRamonaAndHerFather
    • Ramona reminded me of myself more than any other character from my childhood. This book, especially when she crowned herself with thistles that wouldn’t come free, hit home.
  • Lireal by Garth Nix
    • Second books in series are hard, but I loved Lireal more than Sabriel, mainly because of her incredible library.
  • The Giver by Lois Lowry
    •  A copy of this book was given to my brother in grade school by a teacher who thought he’d like it. Years after his death, I have that copy and have read it so many times.
  • The Pistachio Prescription by Paula Danziger
    • Soapy fun after I’d finished up all of the Babysitters Club books. Something about this one, the anxieties of the main character, really hit home to young me.91TZ8r2yVnL
  • Curious George Gets a Medal  by H.A. Ray
    • My son has always been a fervent book-lover. He would perch in my lap for long books by age 2, and this was one of his early favorites that we had to read again and again. Now, I know it by heart.

A fun exercise, but now I’m curious. What are your most reread books?

Leave a Reply

