Library Book Sale Love

Stopped by a library book sale recently and picked up too many  just enough new books. The money all goes to the library, right, so it’s half good deed and half “I need to get rid of some old books  build more bookshelves” fervor. (I’m officially done with strike through for this post, so don’t fear.)

Walking into a library book sale feels like going on a first date. Your expectations are high, but you’re trying to moderate them. You’re willing to give your heart away, but not too quickly. Always, always, you’re hoping to meet the right one. Luckily, with books, there’s no right “one“. I dug through stacks and found seven (seven!) copies of The Poisonwood Bible, several copies of Midwives, but also lots of new-to-me books.

On my stack of finds? Zadie Smith’s On Beauty and Ann Patchett’s Bel Canto, as well as a Calvino slim-but-heavy read called Cosmicomics and In Her Shoes by Jennifer Weiner (who I’ve discovered just in time for my summer break). I picked up a few other books as well and now I’ll get to fit them into their new, color-coordinated-by-spine-color home until I get a chance to read them. Yes, color-coordination can make some things hard to find, but I like to think that my copy of Silent Spring doesn’t mind sitting next to Gaiman’s Stardust or my copy of Middlemarch next to Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim.

Want another good reason to support library book sales near you? They don’t hurt the authors you love, in fact, they can really help you find new authors to love (which can help you find their newest book!)

Long story short, I snuck in a big bag of new books this weekend, so if you don’t hear from me for a while, you’ll know where I am…

 

Leave a Reply

