March Wrap-Up and Bad Poetry Line Request

Reading Wrap-Up

Books Read: 10

Audiobooks: 2

ARCs: 3

Memoirs: 2

Books read for my Goodreads Goal: 33/75 (may have to adjust upward!)

Books left in my A-Z Reading challenge: 8 (D,E,I,K,P,Q,X,Y,Z)

Best of the Month: The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Runners-up: Redefining Realness by Janet Mock, Angela’s Ashes by Frank McCourt, and Lucky Boy by Shanthi Sekaran

Writing Wrap-Up

Manuscripts turned over to the powers that be: 1

Pieces accepted for publication: 2 (1 pending, one here)

New things outlined: 1

Words written on new thing: 4,594

Embarrassing poems and stories from high school and college perused while cleaning out my hard-drive: ∞

Conclusions made about embarrassing poems and stories from high school and college: I had a lot of feelings and very little skill in writing high fantasy

Excerpt of moody high school poetry:

Cling to me

Like a wet bathing suit.

And even worse, moody college poetry:

My insides no longer pepsi-mentos when I think about you

But just like it’s fun to look back on old pictures, it is strangely satisfying to look back on stuff you wrote– and loved– a long time ago.

I would love to have a share your worst line of old poetry contest, posted here on the blog.  I would love to see excerpts of the worst stuff you had back in the day. Thoughts? Comment yours in the comments and I’ll try to collect them into a fantabulous found poem of lost lines. Post by midnight on 4/7 and I’ll get something compiled.

 

 

5 thoughts on “March Wrap-Up and Bad Poetry Line Request

  1. I don’t remember the whole poem anymore (a true blessing), but when I was first in college (18 years old), I wrote a poem that started with, “My lifeless body lies in a pool of blood” and the poem got worse from there. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Here are some uh-mazing lines from a song called “Summer of Shaq” (yes, about Shaquille O’Neal!) I cowrote with a friend back in 2002:

    Living the dream being 7 feet 2,
    There’s nothing I want more than to be like you.
    I’ll only eat BK and wear Reebok shoes.
    Even been askin’ Phil Jackson how I can improve.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

