Reading and Writing Wrap-Up for February

The Month in Numbers:

Books read: 11

Audiobooks: 3

Nonfiction: 3

Birthdays this month: 1

Girls Nights Out: 3

Hours spend editing new project: 43

Papers graded: 85

Most steps in one day: 14,534

Details

Best Books of the Month: The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters (how had I never read Waters before?) , Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi (I could have read entire novels in each perspective), and The Story of a New Name by Elena Ferrante (read more than half of this in the airport. I had a 7 hour flight delay in the airport on my way out to AWP…)

Funny story: I have a toddler who is just learning to talk. She was obsessed with the cover of Homegoing and kept bringing the book to me during play time. I taught her to say “Yaa” when she did that. I think she might be Gyasi’s youngest cheerleader.

I’m obsessed with #audiobaking… baking while listening to audiobooks. I made thin mint brownies and snickerdoodles this month while listening to VE Schwab’s A Conjuring of Light.

endfeb2017-027feb2017-098

Loved running into friends at AWP in February! (waves) I’m already mourning the fact that I probably can’t go next year, but hopefully I’ll be there in 2019 (geez does that sound like a long time away).

I finished the first draft of a new novel (hooray!). It’s now with my trusty and very honest beta-readers.  I can’t read anything in my genre while I write and polish, so I’ve been reading a LOT of excellent sci-fi and fantasy lately. I’d love some more recommendations. I’m going to read the Jemison’s Obelisk Gate and Butler’s The Parable of the Sower, but I’d love more recommendations for what to read after those!

Speaking of the writing and reading life, I’m proud to announce that my partners at the Litsy Feminist Book Club and I have started a review site over at Books That Shook Us. We’re looking for submissions of book reviews, so see that site for more details.

Happy March, everybody!

6 thoughts on “Reading and Writing Wrap-Up for February

  1. Dawn of Wonder by Jonathan Renshaw is a great option if you’re looking for sci-fi/fantasy. It was easily my favorite read from 2016.

    Like

  2. For super fun Firefly-like SciFi I recommend The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet if you haven’t read it yet! So great. I also really enjoy The Expanse series by James SA Corey (first book is Leviathan Wakes). For straight up feminist SciFi my fave author is Sheri S. Tepper. The Gate to Women’s Country is intense, The Margarets is great. She’s got quite a few out there. Ready Player One is a lot of fun, too, full of great 80’s references! Ooh, I also really loved Dark Orbit by Carolyn Ives Gilman – really interesting stuff about sight and our senses and how they shape our experience!

    Ok, I could do this all day, so let me know if you need more recs! SF/fantasy is my fave genre. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

